Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

ASA from Bryan small file.png

About the Award

The Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to creative and innovative use of technology in education by K-12 educators or district-level education personnel. Every year, the Astronauts Memorial Foundation, in collaboration with NASA and the Space Foundation, selects a teacher who exhibits extraordinary inspiration for students to learn about Science and Technology in the classroom. This award is presented at the Space Symposium in Colorado Springs, CO. 

Alan Shepard, one of the nation’s original seven Mercury astronauts, was the first American to fly in space, one of only 12 humans who have walked on the moon, and a former AMF board member. The award named after him recognizes excellence, quality and innovation in the development and application of technology in the classroom or to the professional development of teachers.

Recipients: Click on each Name to view the Biography for the Recipient.

About the National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NASA is an agency of the United States government, responsible for the nation's civilian space program and aeronautics and aerospace research. Operational since 1958, NASA's mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery, and aeronautics research. It has led U.S. space exploration including the Mercury and Gemini space programs, the Apollo missions to the Moon, the Space Shuttle, U.S. involvement in the International Space Station, the Hubble Telescope and robotic interplanetary and distant space missions. NASA is also responsible for long-term civilian and military aerospace research and research focused on better understanding Earth, the solar systems, and the universe beyond. For more information, go to

About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is a 501(c)(3) and the world's premier organization to inspire, educate, connect, and advocate on behalf of the global space community. It is a nonprofit leader in space awareness activities, educational programs, and major industry events, including the annual Space Symposium. Space Foundation headquarters is in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA, and has a public Discovery Center, including El Pomar Space Gallery, Northrop Grumman Science Center featuring Science On a Sphere® and the Lockheed Martin Space Education Center. The Space Foundation has a Washington, D.C., office and field representatives in Houston and the Florida Space Coast. It publishes The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity, and through its Space CertificationTM and Space Technology Hall of Fame® programs, recognizes space-based innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Visit both of our websites – and – and follow us on FacebookTwitterInstagramLinkedIn and YouTube.


Previous Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award Recipients pose with Astronaut Eileen Collins

From Left to Right:

Front Row: Ashlie Blackstone Smith (2017), Eileen Collins and Margaret Rhule Baguio(2016)

Second Row: Diego Martinez (2018) and Daniel Newmyer (2013)