The Astronauts Memorial Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

New Board Members.jpg

The Astronauts Memorial Foundation Appoints Distinguished Members to its Board of Directors

Kennedy Space Center, Florida -The Astronauts Memorial Foundation has appointed Astronaut Stephanie Wilson and Lt. Col (Ret.) Michael Olson as members of the board of directors.

Stephanie Wilson is the first active astronaut to serve on the board of directors for the Astronauts Memorial Foundation. Wilson was selected by NASA as an astronaut candidate in 1996. She has flown 3 missions: STS-121, a return to flight and International Space Station assembly mission; STS-120, an ISS assembly mission and STS-131, a resupply mission to the ISS.

Wilson is currently the Branch Chief of the Mission Support Crew Branch within the Astronaut Office.    She has previously served as the Space Station Integration Branch Chief from 2010 to 2012, and she has also served as a member of the 2009, 2013 and 2017 Astronaut Selection Boards.  She has previously served as a member of  The Harvard University Board of Overseers, and she is currently a member of The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, The Association of Space Explorers, and The Society of Women Engineers.  Her achievements and honors include but are not limited to Harvard College Women’s Professional Achievement Award (2008); Honorary Doctorates of Science from Williams College (2011), Smith College (2016) and the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts (2018); NASA Space Flight Medal (2006, 2007, 2010) and NASA Distinguished Service Medal (2009, 2011). 

Lt. Col. Olson is currently serving as a vice president at Lincoln Savings Bank in Grinnell, Iowa. In 2009, Olson received a congressional nomination for an appointment by the Treasury Department to the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee to the United States Mint. He proposed the 2019 Apollo 50th Anniversary Commemorative Coin program while a member of CCAC in 2014 and was a key player in its passage into law in 2016.

During Olson’s military experience, he served as the commander of several units for the Iowa Army National Guard. While he served as the Selective Service Officer for the State of Iowa, Iowa ranked first in a 23-state region in terms of readiness. His military awards include the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal and the Army Commendation Medal.

The Astronauts Memorial Foundation was founded in the wake of the Challenger accident in 1986. AMF is a private, nonprofit organization that honors U.S. astronauts and astronauts who flew with U.S. crews on American Space Ships, who have lost their lives while on a U.S. government mission or in training. Twenty-four astronauts are now honored by AMF.