Stephanie Wilson

wilson business.jpg

Stephanie Wilson is the first active astronaut to serve on the board of directors for the Astronauts Memorial Foundation. Wilson was selected by NASA as an astronaut candidate in 1996. She has flown 3 missions: STS-121, a return to flight and International Space Station assembly mission in 2006; STS-120, an ISS assembly mission in 2007 and STS-131, a resupply mission to the ISS in 2010.

Wilson is currently the Branch Chief of the Mission Support Crew Branch within the Astronaut Office where she is responsible for the training and professional development needs of the mission support astronauts to ensure they are ready for flight assignment.    She has previously served as the Space Station Integration Branch Chief from 2010 to 2012, and she has also served as a member of the 2009, 2013 and 2017 Astronaut Selection Boards.  

After receiving a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Science from Harvard University and a Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Texas, she worked for the former Martin Marietta Astronautics Group in Denver, Colorado and for the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California before reporting to NASA’s Johnson Space Center in August 1966 for Astronaut Training. As a member of the Astronaut Office she has served in many roles including working in mission control, working with payload displays and procedures, working in the area of robotics.  

Wilson has previously served as a member of  The Harvard University Board of Overseers, and she is currently a member of The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, The Association of Space Explorers, and The Society of Women Engineers.  Her achievements and honors include but are not limited to Harvard College Women’s Professional Achievement Award (2008); Harvard Foundation Scientist of the Year Award (2008); University of Texas Distinguished Alumnus Award (2015); Honorary Doctorates of Science from Williams College (2011), Smith College (2016) and the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts (2018); NASA Space Flight Medal (2006, 2007, 2010) and NASA Distinguished Service Medal (2009, 2011) and the Johnson Space Center Director’s Innovation Group Achievement Award (2013).